Castle Of Chatters
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Castle Of Chatters

The place where chatters go.

HomeGalleryLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Ubuntu 606 myspace instand messenger problem

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
Sports Jacket
Sports Jacket

Ubuntu 606 myspace instand messenger problem Empty
PostSubject: Ubuntu 606 myspace instand messenger problem   Ubuntu 606 myspace instand messenger problem EmptySun Sep 05, 2010 9:41 pm

I am new to ubuntu (getting tired of xp problems), new to linux/unix, and trying to find a decent alternative to XP. I really like ubuntu but so far I have found a problem that I haven't been able to figure out on my own. Hopefully someone here has had the same problem and can help me.

I installed ubuntu 606 desktop from the live CD and it works great. I built the machine it is on out of old parts I had laying around so my girl will have a pc to use while I am at work. She is addicted to myspace and loves to im her friends there. Since switching to ubuntu I have found what I believe are flash problems with the site. When using the IM client in myspace, the person you are messaging sees all the text you type and thier side is fine but on your side of the IM window no text is displayed either in the box where you type or where the text the other person is sending you is supposed to appear. I have flash 7 installed successfully and it plays videos and such so I think it's ok. I also notice on myspace sites that have music, the player box is blank and it appears to not be working. I don't have any speakers yet to know if there is audio or not. This may be related but i'm not sure. Is this a flash problem or is it something like java?

Any help is appreciated. If I get this working, we are going to stick with ubuntu and leave windows in the dust forever.

Thanks
Back to top Go down
Kelsey
Premium Member
Premium Member
Kelsey